2012 in Review

When I look back over this year and contemplate how much my life has transformed – and in exactly the ways I prayed and hoped it would – I am in awe and tearfully grateful.

Every year for the past I-don’t-know-how-many-years I would wish for the same thing — to have a baby and start our family in earnest. Each long year that passed with my dream unfulfilled left scars on my soul, scars that I now carry with pride and great appreciation. The multitude of experiences, the hope, the grief, the anxiety, all came together to form the alchemy of what is now my deep and abiding happiness. Just as carbon under extreme pressure yields nature’s strongest substance, and to many its most beautiful, so the emotions converge in the crucible of the soul to make us stronger and more beautiful for having endured such a difficult path to motherhood.

When I look at my daughter, everything unimportant melts away, and all I feel is pure bliss, peace, gratitude, and love. I would go through everything a thousand times over just to end up with her again. The world is such a different place for me now, and I have her to thank for that. She teaches me every day how precious and miraculous life is and how love is the only thing that has ever mattered.

To all the mothers and mothers-to-be, now and in the future, I wish you not only a happy new year, but also the ability to see the spectacular beauty in it all.

 

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Daryl
    Dec 31, 2012 @ 20:23:43

    I’m so happy for you and your family. A year can change everything. And I hope the coming year is just as joyful.

    Reply

  2. msfertility
    Jan 06, 2013 @ 14:40:08

    Thank you, Daryl. I am anxiously following your first IFV – and hopefully the only one you’ll ever need. If it’s successful, you’ll be having your baby(ies) really close to when I delivered my baby!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

