38 Weeks

Okay, right off the bat, let me just say that I’m antsy and cranky today… and more than a little irked that I’m even writing an update at 38 weeks — especially since everyone thought I’d have the baby by now! Grrr!

I don’t even care if I sound whiny or bitchy. I’m huge. I can’t do anything but lay on the couch like a slug. I feel uncomfortable in my own skin and definitely hormonal. I never really thought I’d be one of those “get this baby out of me!” women, but I am! I’m officially tired of being pregnant, and while I’m lucky to have had a very easy and delightful pregnancy for over 8 months, I’ve now reached the point where discomfort and impatience have taken over. Plus, I just want to hold her in my arms and look at her face! I want to breastfeed and change diapers (yes, really). I am beside myself with anticipation.

So, here we go with the usual questions:

How big is the baby? The charts say she’s the size of a pumpkin. This may be the first time I agree with the fruit ticker!

Symptoms:  Heartburn & swollen ankles, mainly. I also have the agility of a giant sack of potatoes.

Total Weight Loss/Gain:  25 lbs., which for most people would be pretty good, so why-oh-why am I not allowed to have any sugar?! Meh!

Maternity Clothes: There are only certain dresses I can wear now because all the other clothes can’t quite cover my HUGE belly.

Sleep: Always an issue. I’m up several times a night still. And, overall, I find it hard to sleep more than five or six hours. Oh, and, bonus — I’m sleepy all day long.

Best Moment This Week: Probably the phone call where my dad said that if I went into labor and my husband was at work, that my dad could call an ambulance to take me to the hospital! He’s so dramatic. It’s endearing. I explained that even if I did go into labor on my own, I was going to try to spend as much time at home as possible and that it wasn’t an emergency-type situation. His response? “I don’t like this, you’re too calm!”

Oh – I forgot the other great moment of the week. We went back to the fertility clinic because our doc said he wanted to see us before we had the baby. I felt really weird about walking into the clinic so obviously pregnant, but he said he thought it was good advertising. (Not sure I agree, but luckily, there was no one in the waiting room when we got there.) Our old doc was so happy to see us and told me that he just loved pregnant women so much that he got his wife pregnant with their third child just so he could see her pregnant! (A little odd, no?)

Anyway, he was great and thanked us again for sticking with him. I thanked him for believing in us and for being a part of our miracle. On our way out, I spotted one of the nurses who usually drew my blood and she came running over to hug me. She and another nurse were just fawning over me with excitement and squealing about what a cute pregnant lady I was. I wasn’t expecting them to be so happy for me… and it really felt genuine. I was surprised and overwhelmed. I didn’t realize they cared so much. That felt absolutely amazing!

Movement: Still experiencing lots of big moves and the occasional jab.

Food Cravings: Sweets. I want sweets! (same as last time)

Labor Signs: Absolutely none.

Belly Button In or Out? Well, much to my chagrin, we’ve crossed the threshold on this one. My belly button is now a definite “outie” and I can’t stand it! Plus, it’s really tender and I’m always bumping my belly up against something – like the kitchen counter – because I haven’t gotten used to how fast it has grown. One of the main reasons I want to give birth soon is to get my “innie” back – is that very superficial?

What I miss: I miss feeling good and full of energy.

What I am looking forward to:  I’m looking forward to the start of labor, having a quick and easy delivery … and of course, I’m looking forward to meeting our precious angel! In fact, I cannot wait to see her face!!!

Next Appointment: Tuesday. And I hope I don’t make it there because she’ll already have been born!

Milestones: Just reaching 38 weeks … and being so close to meeting our daughter!

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Daryl
    Sep 30, 2012 @ 20:05:22

    Oh, man. I thought you were so close! I hope she gets here soon so you can hold and cuddle and change those diapers!

    Reply

  2. msfertility
    Sep 30, 2012 @ 20:39:06

    Me, too!

    Reply

  3. Laura
    Oct 02, 2012 @ 13:17:14

    You are just way too cute…which is not what a cranky prego wants to hear but you are! It’s a good thing that you are feeling like this and ready for baby. It means she’s on the way! I was cranky in my last couple of days too. I wouldn’t have wished it on anyone to spend that time with me! I had Connor 10 days early and the two days before I was cranky, uncomfortable and didn’t want to do anything but lie in bed and be left alone! Hang in there…lots of dirty explosive diapers await you!!!

    Reply

  4. msfertility
    Oct 04, 2012 @ 13:41:52

    No… I’m still waiting! The doc says I’m still 2 cm dialated and now 70% effaced, but there is no real sign of labor yet. Tomorrow, I’m officially 39 weeks. Really hoping she comes soon! (Thanks for checking in!) xoxo

    Reply

Leave a Reply

