The Home Stretch

It turns out that I planned our Babymoon just in time.

We had a really lovely picnic on the beach yesterday (at El Matador, just north of Malibu – one of our favorite places to visit). I made vegan BLT + avocado sandwiches and we enjoyed that with cut up veggies & fruit… and a little bit of beer the hubby sneaked down to the shore. We were surrounded by a semi-circle of sea gulls and the hypnotic crashing of waves. It was so peaceful and relaxing — exactly how I’d wanted our day to be.

A little bit before sunset, we headed to our hotel and slipped into the hot-tub on our private deck which the hotel had set to 98 degrees especially for us. We had a view of palm trees swaying in the warm breeze and the smell of a wood-burning oven from the nearby restaurant filled the air. The water was absolutely perfect. I can’t even put into words how relaxing – and romantic – it was for both of us. There’s been so much running around lately that it was a rare and much needed treat to just be somewhere together, relax, and enjoy the moment.

After about an hour of soaking, we dried off, got into our sleep clothes and ordered in Thai food that we ate on the bed while watching t.v. It felt so great to be lazy!

(This next part may be TMI – just warning you.)

This morning, as we were getting ready to leave the hotel and enjoy our day at the Third Street Promenade, I noticed something on the bathroom floor that looked, frankly, like snot. I thought it was strange. I even asked my husband if he had blown his nose in the bathroom. He said he hadn’t. I told him there was snot on the floor. He came in to look at it and then said, “There’s some on your leg, too!” (which freaked me out a little, but I still didn’t put two and two together). I did notice a ton of discharge after I used the toilet, but there didn’t seem to be anything unusual other than the amount. It wasn’t until we got to Santa Monica and I used the bathroom there, that I realized there was some tan (blood-tinged) mucus in my underwear. And then, it finally hit me — I lost my mucus plug!

When I explained to my hubby what that was and we Googled what it meant about when labor would start, he looked a bit panicky. I should also add that on our last Dr’s appointment a few days ago, she checked my cervix only to find that I am already 2 cm dialated and 50% effaced! So, it looks like this thing is happening soon!

He insisted we call the doctor, even though what’s happening is perfectly normal. The baby is full-term as of yesterday. He called & was patched through to the doctor, who said we’ll probably deliver either in a week or within the week (I’m not sure – lol). It’s definitely a little scary, but very, very exciting! I’m not sure we have everything on our “To Do” list completed yet, but this latest development puts everything into high-gear.

This week is going to be one heck of a rollercoaster!!! But we cannot wait to meet our little girl! (If only she would tell us what she wants us to name her!) I can’t believe we don’t have a name yet. Oh, well… I’m sure this isn’t the last aspect of parenthood for which I won’t be fully prepared 😉

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Daryl
    Sep 23, 2012 @ 13:34:33

    How exciting!!!!! Can’t wait for the big announcement! I don’t think it’s a big deal not to have a name picked out. As long as you have it figured out before they issue the birth certificate. (Although, I’ve even heard of people changing their baby’s name after a few months, so…there’s always that option?)

    Reply

  2. msfertility
    Sep 23, 2012 @ 17:23:30

    I am super-excited! I thought I’d be feeling more anxious, but I just can’t wait to see her and hold her in my arms!!! (Really hoping for your success to come soon!)

    Reply

  3. Laura
    Sep 26, 2012 @ 11:59:54

    Yay! This just made my day. So excited for you and cannot wait to hear about how everything goes! Being totally selfish…I’m going to miss you so please write! LOL!

    Reply

  4. msfertility
    Sep 26, 2012 @ 19:38:14

    I’m excited and exhausted at the same time! lol I’m really hoping she comes soon… I’m definitely ready. As for the writing, I’ll do what I can 😉 xoxox

    Reply

Leave a Reply

