35 Weeks

How big is the baby? The charts say she’s the size of a coconut… a really, really BIG coconut, apparently!

Symptoms:  Heartburn, backaches, swollen ankles, Braxton-Hicks cramps, hip pain… I’m like an old lady these days!

Total Weight Loss/Gain:  20 lbs. as of today.

Maternity Clothes: My maternity t-shirts are creeping up to reveal my belly when I wear regular (non-maternity) stretchy skirts. That’s how huge I am now! lol

Sleep: Sleep isn’t too bad, but what interrupts my sleep most these days (aside from the frequent trips to the bathroom) are these nagging pains in my hips. They make it painful to rest on either side (and sleeping on my back is definitely out of the question). Other than that… the baby has a habit of shifting her entire weight to whatever side I choose to sleep on and then (what feels like) kicking or pummeling that side as if she’s trying to prop herself up. Either way, it’s nearly impossible to go back to sleep most times.

Best Moment This Week: Announcing our pregnancy to friends via Facebook and receiving all the love & support. We enjoyed their surprise in finding out we’re 8 months pregnant! One of my friends called me in (happy) tears and, of course, it made me start crying, too. I was surprised by both how some of our friends shared so much in our happiness and by how some of them (like my husband’s old best friend, B) know we’re pregnant and have failed (refuse?) to congratulate us. It’s shocking, actually… but probably very good to know where people stand nevertheless.

Movement: Big, bold movements that contort my belly. My husband finally uttered the words, “It looks like an alien is inside you!”

Food Cravings: Sweets. I want sweets!!!!

Labor Signs: None other than the Braxton-Hicks cramping.

Belly Button In or Out? The jury is out. I think my “innie” is threatening to become an “outie.” I’m not exactly happy about this, but am consciously trying to relax and not let it bother me. In the grand scheme of things, it’s incredibly minor… but vanity is still vanity!

What I miss: I miss being able to move with any degree of agility. I miss when I could lean forward and do my make up in the mirror without having my baby kick me because I’m squashing her. I miss my “cute” preggo belly of the 2nd trimester.

What I am looking forward to:  I’m looking forward to our 1-day babymoon in Malibu and I’m really looking forward to a short & easy delivery. I cannot wait to meet her!!!

Next Appointment: In a couple of weeks, mainly to see if she’s getting so big that we’ll have to induce. I’m hoping she’s not. I don’t know what Pitocin will do to the level of contraction pain or my ability to handle it.

Milestones: I can’t believe I’m 5 weeks from my due date and that she may be here even sooner than that! It feels sooooo surreal. It feels like everything suddenly reached warp speed, but is in slow motion at the same time!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Daryl
    Sep 08, 2012 @ 20:34:02

    You’re getting so close! Enjoy that babymoon! (While you still can.)

    Reply

  2. msfertility
    Sep 08, 2012 @ 23:32:07

    Thank you! 🙂

    Reply

  3. Laura
    Sep 18, 2012 @ 07:31:18

    I love that you just announced it on Facebook! I’m glad that you get to enjoy the new excitement created by more people finding out. I’ve (against my own better judgement) become that mom that posts everything on Facebook!

    I hope you have an amazing Babymoon and post all about it!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

