One BIG baby!

I had my latest doctor’s appointment with the perinatologist on Friday, and he confirmed what my OB had noted last week: I’m carrying one BIG baby!

Last week, my OB had commented that I was measuring at 34 weeks, even though I was only 32 weeks pregnant. I was pretty sure she had to be wrong and that I was merely bloated – because, after all, I’ve only gained about 18 lbs or so during the entire pregnancy and have been told over and over how great that number is. When I told her that the perinatologist had told me (at the previous visit) that the baby weighed in at just over 3 lbs., she seemed surprised and said the baby should be weighing closer to 2 or 2.5 lbs. at that stage. However, when I went home and checked with Dr. Google, I found that ultrasounds and the like are often mistaken when trying to predict baby weight.

Well, I think I’m starting to lose some faith in Google… because on Friday, the perinatologist told us that our precious “little” girl is weighing in at a hefty 5.4 lbs.!!! Just for the record, I weighed 5.1 lbs. at birth. Admittedly, I was a preemie… but our baby is only 33 weeks, for crying out loud!

He also asked if I’d been checked for gestational diabetes. I told him I had done both tests and that my results were borderline. The look on his face suggested that I should either be re-tested or that I should adopt the GD diet anyhow, which I have decided to do. I have no idea why my baby is bigger than she should be (measuring at the 68th percentile) but I don’t like it. In fact, I more than “don’t like” it – it’s freaking me out! I’m worried that a bigger baby will possibly translate into more complications (and possibly more pain during my un-medicated birthing). What if I end up having to have a C-Section because she’s huge?! That’s really scary to me. I don’t think her size poses any harm to her, which is good… but it is filling me with anxiety to think about delivering a big baby. I had always imagined/hoped she’d be somewhere around 7 lbs., but I think we can kiss those dreams goodbye!

My husband thinks it’s funny. In fact, he thinks my freaking out about it is hilarious – and he tells me, “She’s supposed to be big. It’s good. She’s healthy!” But I think she could be just as healthy at 7 lbs.! Also, all the “pregnancy week-by-week” things I read say, “At 33 weeks, your baby is weighing 4 lbs. and measures just over 17 inches” and all I can think is, “No – my baby weighs 5.4 lbs.!” How big is she going to get over the next 7 weeks?!?!

{Deep breath.} I’m going to try to do my best to control this somewhat with diet, if that’s even possible at this stage, and I’m really trying to remind myself that – like most things in life – I have no real control over what happens. This, ladies & gents, is much more difficult than it sounds.

In other (old) news, my baby shower a couple of weeks ago was an overall success – if you dis count the fact that it happened to coincide with the hottest weekend of the year, with temperatures upwards of 100 degrees — and the fact that our home air conditioning, which normally works just fine, on that day absolutely lost the battle, and even though it was on full-blast, our home was a sweltering 89 degrees for the duration of the party and then some!

But my friends are real troopers and quickly made use of the cold drinks and hand-fans we provided to try and stay somewhat cool. I kept apologizing for the heat, and my sweet friends kept saying things like, “It’s not that bad, you’re just pregnant!” or “It’s great in here – it’s so much hotter outside!” (But the thermostat doesn’t lie!) Even my husband said he would have bailed on any party that was that hot – haha!

My step-mother did an amazing job with the decorations, table-settings, and absolutely delicious food [we had all Middle-Eastern fare: grape leaves, cheese filo-triangles, olives, hummus, pita, fattoush salad – which is my favorite – crispy rice with almond slivers, garlic chicken (for my carnivorous friends), and for dessert, chocolate-orange vegan cupcakes, banana cream vegan cupcakes, and fresh fruit]. Half of the food was home made and the other half came from one of the best restaurants in town. Everyone raved about the food and how pretty the formal table settings were. (It’s always nice to hear that people enjoyed aspects that took a lot of planning & work!)

We kept our baby shower games to a minimum – largely because I don’t like most baby shower games! We played 1 “guess how many clothes-pins in a jar” game and 2 trivia games – one about how well our guests knew the mommy & daddy-to-be and another general baby trivia game. People seemed to have a lot of fun with both. People, I should say, other than my mother, who sat there the entire time with the most obviously sour look on her face. (Some of my guests kept asking me if she was okay, so I asked her several times throughout the party if she was, receiving various answers each time.) During the games, when I asked if she was okay, she said,”These games are booooring!” I said, “Well, everyone else seems to be enjoying it. Hang in there!”

Another weird thing she did was prompt my official baby-shower host to make a toast (because she said she wanted to say a few words after him). So, he made a toast and a lovely little speech, and directly afterwards, I made a toast and thanked everyone for coming and expressed how much it meant to me. He then turned to my mother and said, “Would you like to say a few words?” And she shook her head, “no.”

Then… my husband made his obligatory “appearance” with two beautiful bouquets of bright red roses: one for me and one for his mom. It was totally unexpected! Shortly thereafter, I was informed that my mother had left the party and taken her purse & keys with her. So, I ran out to ask if she was okay. She said, “I’m okaaaaay” dragging it out to make a point that she wasn’t “good” but merely “ok.” I asked if she was leaving, but she said she was just getting something out of her car and would be right back. I had no idea until she told me days later that she was “hurt and offended” that my husband didn’t get her a bouquet of roses, too. Sheesh!

My only pet-peeve about the shower and something I was really surprised to discover was that very few people paid any attention to the baby registry which I had painstakingly created, and thus, I only ended up with a few items I actually needed! Apparently, people think it’s perfectly fine to ignore the mother’s wishes and instead, decide on their own what they think the baby needs (which is apparently an abundance of “newborn” outfits – that  my big baby probably won’t even wear once!)

All-in-all, it was a good baby shower and I was reminded of the fact that I have some really great friends who love me, are genuinely excited about the baby, and truly share in my happiness. At the end of the day, I’ll consider that my real gift!

 

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jesica
    Aug 25, 2012 @ 13:39:53

    I wouldn’t worry, my baby was measuring about 5.5 lbs. at 34 weeks and came out at 6 lbs at 38 weeks. YES there was a preeclampsia issue, but baby is only supposed to gain about .5 lb a week at this point and an 8.5 lb baby really isn’t that big. Don’t stress about the baby’s size as it’s really rare for your body to make a baby it can’t get out!

    Reply

  2. msfertility
    Aug 25, 2012 @ 14:23:46

    Oh, wow… I keep denying the possibility that she could come earlier than her due date – I’m not ready! lol I do really appreciate the encouragement, though. I keep telling myself that my body is designed to handle this! xoxo

    Reply

  3. Daryl
    Aug 25, 2012 @ 16:38:44

    Before my sister gave birth, they kept telling her the baby was measuring too small and pushing her due date back. When my niece was born, right around her original due date, she was a perfectly healthy 7 lbs. Dr. Google was right for once–the u/s measurements can be off.

    So glad you enjoyed the shower, despite the heat and your mom’s antics. Yeah, I love it when everyone else thinks they know what you want/need, even though you’ve clearly stated differently. Oh, well. It’s the thought that counts, right?

    Reply

    • msfertility
      Aug 25, 2012 @ 16:47:59

      I’ll take any story I can cling to – thank you! 🙂

      I have a feeling people shop that way for gifts in general… I just figured maybe the ONE time they’d stick to a registry is for a baby, but I was wrong! Luckily, with family helping us, I can afford to shell out some dough for the stuff we really need.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

