32 Weeks

How big is the baby? She’s the size of squash, apparently. I don’t think that’s very descriptive. Last week would’ve been pineapple… if that helps, perspective-wise. At any rate, she must have had a growth spurt (either that or I was retaining gas – TMI? – at my last doctor’s appointment) because she said I was measuring at 34 weeks – eek! I don’t want to push out a big baby!

Symptoms:  Oh, where do I begin?! Heartburn has taken on new meaning for me. It’s totally random as to when it strikes (well, usually at night, but not always) and what foods or drinks set it off. Then there’s the numb legs – fun! And then… I have menstrual-like cramps and bad backaches, which my doctor says are Braxton-Hicks. Except, I’m not getting the tightening/contraction sensation. Weird. Oh, and… I’m really weepy and hormonal. I must be such a pleasure to be around – haha!

Total Weight Loss/Gain:  The doctor says less than 15 lbs. but as usual, my scale is different and shows me hovering somewhere around 17 or 18 lbs.

Maternity Clothes: Is this even a question? Let’s just say that some of my maternity t-shirts are almost too small now.

Sleep: Sleep wins as the “most improved” category this time! Even though I get up several times a night to pee, I can usually get back to sleep these days. This week has even seen it’s share of 10 hr sleep nights. Woo Hoo! Although, getting up out of bed is another story. How’d you like to strap on an 18 lb. bag of sand on your belly and try rising out of bed 8 times a night? It ain’t easy… and I feel like an old lady… huffing & puffing as I try to “roll” myself out of bed (or any supine position for that matter!)

Best Moment This Week: I still love Daddy’s singing & talking to our baby girl best. This week he asked her how she was doing and if she had enough room in there… if she was enjoying being in Mommy’s belly. Very cute! I love it when he tells her how much we love her and how beautiful she is.

Movement: More than ever! I can feel every little thing she does – and the movements are big. Sometimes they tickle and other times, I watch my entire belly contort and change shape several times in one minute.

Food Cravings: I don’t think it has much to do with pregnancy, but ever since we had leftover cupcakes (vegan chocolate & orange – my favorite!) I’ve been craving sweets. That’s not good, considering that I still have to watch for the gestational diabetes! But it’s super difficult to resist, especially when I’m feeling blue.

Labor Signs: None other than the Braxton-Hicks cramping.

Belly Button In or Out? Still in… but getting really close to being flat.

What I miss: I miss when I used to walk without waddling, when I was able to sit up out of bed, or get up off the sofa without needing a forklift to hoist me up. I miss the energy I had during my second trimester. I miss being completely positive about how easy & wonderful the delivery would be. As it gets closer (and I go to these baby-prep classes) all kinds of fears I never before entertained have entered my psyche.

What I am looking forward to:  Putting all the baby shower gifts away (after I wash all the clothes & toys, that is). I look forward to spending some time alone with my husband somehow! It’ll be the last of our alone-time for a long while. I’m already missing that.

Next Appointment: Next Thursday… I hope we get another ultrasound pic!

Milestones: I’m 8 weeks away from my due date. It’s exciting and anxiety producing. When my energy is up, the changes coming my way seem wondrous and thrilling. But right now, despite having slept well, I am utterly exhausted and wonder if I’ll have the energy for it all. I’m scared about so many things. At the moment, it’s whether or not I’ll have postpartum depression. I didn’t worry about that before, but I’ve been so inexplicably sad this week – not all the time, but often enough that it worries me. Everyone keeps telling me that things will be just fine. And they probably will be. As beautiful as this time is, the real fears & stresses of a looming life change really shouldn’t be dismissed or underestimated by anyone. Everything about my life is about to change – forever.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Daryl
    Aug 19, 2012 @ 19:20:47

    Oh my gosh–you’re getting so close! I would be anxious, too! And you’re right–everything is going to change, but I hope it’s mostly for the better. You’re going to be such a great mom.

    Reply

  2. msfertility
    Aug 19, 2012 @ 19:53:28

    I hope so! (Thank you for saying so.) I definitely feel like I’ve entered the time warp now!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

