29 Weeks

I know I’ll write it somewhere in here again, but I cannot explain how tickled & thrilled I am to see a pic of my baby girl with big, baby cheeks! We had our 29 week ultrasound yesterday and this time she cooperated (unlike 4 weeks ago) and we got a pretty decent look at her face (pic updated on the pix page). And all I could think was, “She has cheeks!!!” I want to squish them and cover them with kisses! Now, I really can’t wait to meet her. Oh, and now… because of the cheeks, people say she’s starting to look like me. Hahaha. I know that she still really looks like her dad… but maybe there is a little bit of me thrown in there after all.

How big is the baby? She’s the size of an acorn squash. The doctor said she weighs 3 lbs. now!

Symptoms:  An annoying new symptom that has popped up in the last few weeks is when my legs (thighs, actually) go completely numb – not fall asleep as in “pins & needles” sensations, but completely numb to the touch! It’s very disconcerting, but apparently common. My doctor told me today to get a support band for my belly because my hips are trying to open up or something… who can pay attention these days with baby-class overload and lack of sleep. Aside from the nausea, this is beginning to feel like the first trimester!

Total Weight Loss/Gain:  The doctor says 12 lbs. but I’m totally discounting her calculations. By my count, it’s 16 lbs. Which, isn’t bad, but I feel so much bigger than that!

Maternity Clothes: I’m now getting to the point where I wonder if I’ll need even bigger maternity clothes. It’s weird how fast this belly is growing. People who haven’t seen me for even a few days regularly comment that I’m bigger when they see me.

Sleep: Fail. Great big fail. I’m averaging 4-5 hours and they’re not even consecutive most nights. When people tell me (as they love to say to pregnant women) “Hey, it’s good practice for when your baby comes!” I want to punch them in the face. No, really, I do. Personally, I think if nature wanted to “prepare” me for having a baby, it would provide me with even more sleep right now, not less!

Best Moment This Week: The cheeks! How could anything top the big, squeezable cheeks?! I do also love that my husband is now talking (and singing “My Girl“) to our baby. I think he wants to make sure she recognizes his voice once she’s out! Plus, I just love him fussing over her… even though it’s really annoying that he plunges his face into my belly… lol.

Gender: Female. (Should I get rid of this question? It’s not like the answer is ever going to change.)

Movement: All the time! I can also distinguish hiccups now – they manifest as rhythmic taps. It’s cute, but I feel bad sometimes when they go on for a long time. My hubby is now playing the game with her where he pushes into my belly and waits for her to kick him back. It’s fun for the whole family!

Food Cravings: No. I’m one of those boring, craving-less women I guess!

Labor Signs: Thankfully, no.

Belly Button In or Out? In and staying that way. In fact, I still have a little divet, so there’s room to grow.

What I miss: I miss sleeping 7-8 hrs a night. I miss having a clear mind that has the ability to remember things. (The other day, I had a list of exactly two items I needed from the supermarket. I kept repeating the list over and over so that I wouldn’t forget. As soon as I walked in, I forgot one of the items. I kept stopping in the middle of the aisle and concentrating until I remembered. And then I’d walk three feet and forget again! This happened so many times that I genuinely felt I had a unique view into complete senility. Not fun.)

What I am looking forward to:  Finishing up the nursery and having a wonderful baby shower! Also, finishing up things that need to be done around the house… the baby shower is a great deadline to have. In the short term, I’m looking forward to the mythical nap. Mythical, only because I’ll probably never get to it.

Next Appointment: August 17th. Did I mention that my glucose results from the 3-hr test came back normal? I was elated. Although, the doc said the numbers are borderline and I have to be careful about carbs and not eat them at night (I guess last night’s pasta dinner – admittedly a rarity – was not a good idea!)

Milestones: I’m well into my third – and LAST – trimester now. I can’t believe how quickly it has all gone by. I’m really going to miss being pregnant! I know that, so I’m making an effort to enjoy every bit of this now. It’s unlikely to ever happen again – this is it – and I feel so blessed to have had such an easy pregnancy. I hope it continues to be uneventful and that her birthing is also short and pain-free. (I’ve enrolled in the Hypnobabies home study course and am really aiming for a beautiful birthing experience. I figure we’ve gone through so much to get to this point, the rest should be easy!)

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Daryl
    Jul 27, 2012 @ 16:16:00

    Ohmigod! Cheeks! I can’t wait to hear how your birth goes after that hypno-thingy.

    Reply

  2. msfertility
    Jul 27, 2012 @ 17:09:17

    😀

    Reply

  3. Laura
    Jul 30, 2012 @ 09:10:29

    I’m am so interested in hearing how the Hypnobabies study is because I looked into it but it was so expensive that I decided against it. I really like the idea of it.

    Love the picture (and the cheeks)!!

    Reply

  4. msfertility
    Jul 30, 2012 @ 17:45:43

    To be honest, I fall asleep every single time I listen to a Hypnobabies track! I am told that it still registers in my subconscious, though. We shall see!

    (My new nickname for the baby is “Cheeks”!) 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

