26 Weeks

How big is the baby? She’s the size of a head of lettuce – ha! That’s odd, isn’t it? I think my entire uterus may be the size of a head of lettuce, I’m pretty sure the baby is smaller. Somewhere between 11 and 13 inches long and nearly 2lbs. on average.

Symptoms:  Swollen ankles (mainly when I eat salty things) and heartburn after nearly everything I eat – and antacids don’t help at all 😦

Total Weight Loss/Gain:  I’ve gained about 12 lbs. total – the doctor says it’s perfect, but charts I’ve seen online say I’m a little bit below where I need to be. Then again, I simply cannot eat when I’m not hungry. And if I overeat at any meal, I have terrible tummy aches and a general feeling of grossness!

Maternity Clothes: Of course, all the time. I wanted to buy a sleeveless summer dress and I realized, after trying loads on, that my arms are not anywhere near show-ready — and probably won’t be for the foreseeable future, so I opted for a really cute little “shirt” dress with rolled up half-sleeves in a super-lightweight material. I love it! And my husband says I don’t even look pregnant in it (which isn’t true, but I love that he says that). I think it’s my favorite piece of maternity clothing so far – thank you, Motherhood store!

Sleep: Getting better in that I sometimes manage 8 or 9 hours of sleep – woo hoo!!! It helps to make up for those nights when I only get 4 or 5 hours. I feel like I’m actually functioning most of the time, so that’s a real improvement. Also, in the sleep category, I have more and more vivid dreams all the time. I’m waiting to meet my baby in one of them, like I’ve heard some friends of mine talk about. I would love a chance to get to meet her and talk with her before she’s born {crossing fingers}

Best Moment This Week: Celebrating my husband’s birthday last night. We had such a good time and were just in that great couple-space, where no matter what you’re doing, you’re having an amazing time just because you’re there with your best friend… who also happens to be sexy! Haha. We went to a Brew-pub for dinner and then to a craft beer bar. Our bartender was the best and kept us laughing & entertained all night and then we ended up in a conversation with another couple who were celebrating their anniversary and anxious to get back home to their 2 yr old. We talked babies for a long time. And it was a unique glimpse into how our lives are about to change forever. I very much appreciated the woman’s calm “everything will fall into place” demeanor and her general positivity. (I’m amazed at how many people actually want to scare you about having kids!)

Gender: Female.

Movement: All the time! Sometimes, I think it’s getting to be a bit much, but then if I don’t feel her move for a while, I start to worry!

Food Cravings: Not really, but stay tuned. As soon as the nutritionist tells me I have to cut down on fruits and other sugary foods, I predict the “cravings” are going to suddenly go into overdrive!

Labor Signs: Thankfully, no.

Belly Button In or Out? I still have an “inny.” And, there’s plenty of room to go, so I think – I hope – it’s going to remain that way, or at the very least, be flat.

What I miss: I miss being able to bend forward and I do sometimes miss having a flat tummy, even though I love my tummy now. I do miss drinking alcohol, even though the doctor told me I could have a glass of wine, beer, or champagne if I wanted — as long as I kept it to just one glass! (The sheer guilt makes that difficult, I must admit.) I have managed to have one-third of a lower alcohol beer though!

What I am looking forward to:  Seeing the next ultrasound photo – even more so now, since our last photo was disappointing (in that it was unclear and fuzzy) and we wanted so much to see her little face again!

Next Appointment: July 10th, but only for the 3-hr glucose test, which promises to be a real delight, seeing as I have to starve fast from midnight to 9 am and then have my blood drawn, drink a cloyingly sugary beverage, and have my blood drawn three additional times at one-hour intervals. I can’t even drink water until it’s all over. Oh, joy.

I am actually quite concerned about the very real possibility of a gestational diabetes diagnosis. And I’m a little pissed-off, too. I eat very healthily most of the time, but didn’t realize that my habit of eating fruit on it’s own as a snack or as dinner was a no-no, as it causes spikes in blood-sugar. I thought I was doing a good thing!

I guess I’ll take it as a “win” if all I have to do is change what/how I eat and be more diligent about exercise. I hope I don’t have to do anything more drastic, like give myself insulin shots before every meal 😦

Milestones: I’m not sure. Maybe just making it to 26 weeks is milestone enough! Oh, wait – I thought of something. I can actually sort-of tell what position the baby is in because I can now distinguish her head from other parts of her body. My tummy will become extra hard where her head is and a little more pliable where her other body parts are. I think that’s pretty cool!

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Laura
    Jul 10, 2012 @ 07:16:49

    Good luck with your appointment today….I’m sure you’ll be fine. I ate a ton of fruit and had no problems whatsoever. It’s a good sugar 😉

    Reply

    • msfertility
      Jul 10, 2012 @ 23:09:16

      That’s what I thought! But I think that, combined with my family history of diabetes (on my father’s side) probably pushed me over the edge, so to speak. Although, to be fair, I won’t know the results for a few more days.

      Reply

  2. Daryl
    Jul 10, 2012 @ 21:21:12

    How did it go? I’d say 26 weeks is a milestone in itself, but it’s so cool you can tell where her little head is. I’ve also heard a little bit of alcohol is fine, but it would make me a little bit nervous, too!

    Reply

    • msfertility
      Jul 10, 2012 @ 23:12:32

      Today was rough. Something about fasting and then drinking 100 mg of glucose is just … wrong! I guess a lot of women throw up, but I just nearly passed out from exhaustion. It was tough keeping my eyes open in the waiting room. I’m trying to prepare myself for any outcome. (In the meantime, little sips of beer here & there should’t hurt 🙂 )

      Reply

  3. Laura
    Jul 13, 2012 @ 07:31:17

    How did everything turn out? I’ve been thinking about you!

    Reply

  4. msfertility
    Jul 16, 2012 @ 19:01:49

    Got the results this morning, and they’re NORMAL! Woo Hoo!!! Breathing a huge sigh of relief right now… this whole thing had me quite worried. I do plan on eating a bit more carefully now, though.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

