23 Weeks

Technically, tomorrow is the official 23 week mark, but we’re heading out to Las Vegas to celebrate a friend’s 40th birthday, so I’m posting this now. (It’s only a few hours difference anyway.)

Isn’t Vegas the perfect pregnancy getaway? Haha. Of course not, I want to drink a dirty martini in a slinky black dress just thinking about it! But, oh well. I think this is the closest we’re coming to having a babymoon (not exactly as I imagined it) since time and finances don’t seem to be cooperating with us. I do plan on having a pregnancy massage, though, if I can get over the guilt of spending $110 on a massage! C’mon money Gods… be good to me! Mama needs a real babymoon!

Without further ado, here are this week’s stats:

How big is the baby? The size of a Grapefruit, according to the dubious fruit ticker. What’s really freaking me out is that I keep reading the baby is now nearly 11 inches! What? How? Where?!?!

Symptoms:  Heartburn and backache… with a tiny little bit of the grouchies and the weepies thrown in for good measure. Oh, wait… I’ve been forgetting about my most annoying symptom of all-time that has been with me for months now: hemorrhoids! 😦

Total Weight Loss/Gain:  I’ve gained about 10 lbs. total – so much of it seems to have crept on in the last few weeks!

Maternity Clothes: Yes, please. I think I’m all set with the purchase of maternity clothes, with the possible exception of swimwear (the jury’s still out on that). I did also see some really cute, skinny (black) jeans at Gap Maternity… so maybe not quite done acquiring clothes yet!

Sleep: I haven’t been sleeping well at all, but it’s not the baby’s fault – I blame my husband! He’s been coming home from work really late, sometimes after midnight, and he insists on “hanging out” with me until 2 or 3 a.m. I guess it’s not his fault that I can’t sleep in late (like he does), so most nights I’m averaging about six hours of sleep and that isn’t nearly enough.

Best Moment This Week: It’s a toss-up. Can I pick two?? The first (chronologically speaking) was that my husband was finally able to feel the baby kick! An event he described as “cool.”

And the second moment was pure awesomeness for me! Two nights ago, the baby was super active. I was lying down on the couch with my hand on my belly and decided to play with her a little. So, using three fingers, I pushed into a corner of my belly – pretty hard – and kept the pressure there for a few seconds. Immediately, the baby punched right back in the same spot! I can’t explain my elation… it was our first real, tangible bit of communication.

Gender: It’s a girl!

Movement: Yes, and lots of it. Weird movement related factoid. Against my better judgement, I decided to see if I could actually see the movement of my belly on the outside when the baby was moving, kicking, or punching. So, when I felt her being active, I lifted my shirt and stared at my belly. And lo and behold – I could see it move! A close friend of mine describes it as “very sci-fi,” but I think it’s downright creepy! I will NOT be doing that again!

Food Cravings: Not really… and I’ve recently been trying to curtail my sugar consumption, which is a big change for this pregnancy.

Labor Signs: Thankfully, no.

Belly Button In or Out? Still in (I still say, please let it stay this way.)

What I miss: Wearing heels. I know I still can if I want to, but I don’t want to right now – and I couldn’t live with myself if I fell or tripped. I’ve nearly tripped wearing sneakers, so it’s not that far-fetched.

When I was a young girl, my mom miscarried after a fall caused by her wearing high heels and walking on uneven pavement. There’s no way I want to take that chance!

What I am looking forward to:  Seeing the next ultrasound photo.

Next Appointment: June 28th.

Milestones: Take your pick! Hubby feeling the baby kick; the baby communicating with me; seeing my belly move on its own – eek!

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Daryl
    Jun 14, 2012 @ 20:19:08

    Have a great time on your Vegas babymoon! If you can’t indulge in booze or slinky dresses, I’d say a massage is a good splurge. Baby girl is doing so many cool things right now–and I think it’s awesome your hubby got to feel it!

    Reply

  2. Jesica
    Jun 14, 2012 @ 21:10:28

    At first I hated seeing the baby move from the outside, like there was an alien growing inside me! Now I love it. I sit in the bathtub forever when baby is really active and just watch the belly move around =)

    Reply

  3. dopingforbaby
    Jun 17, 2012 @ 09:02:22

    This is all so exciting! Sorry you’re not sleeping well. Tell Hubby you need your rest. Hope Vegas is fab. When we lived in SoCal Vegas was our go-to weekend get away as it was cheap, hot, and filled with pretty pools.

    Reply

    • msfertility
      Jun 18, 2012 @ 20:39:02

      The only bad thing about being pregnant in Vegas (aside from the not being able to drink) is all the skinny girls in skimpy outfits! It’s not exactly a confidence booster – lol. But I think hubby is starting to understand my need for sleep, since he was only able to sleep for 4 hours before we had to drive back (which took 6 hours) – not fun!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

