20 Weeks

There’s a lot that has transpired this week, and I hope I get to memorialize it all… but I may not. Sometimes you go through so much worry and anxiety, just to come out the other end and realize you might have been going a bit overboard all along. When I figure out what really matters and can distill a few intelligent thoughts, I may write about it. In the meantime, enjoy my 20-week update 🙂

How big is the baby? The size of a Banana, according to the fruit ticker, which I honestly have to question, seeing as next week is a Pomegranate! Is my baby going to get smaller next week? lol This fruit stuff is ridiculous. The baby measures 6.5 inches (16.5 centimeters) this week.

Symptoms: A little bit of heartburn and bloating after nearly everything I eat – boo.

Total Weight Loss/Gain: I weigh about 6 pounds more than when I started, which I think is pretty good. Oddly, the scale at my doctor’s office shows that I’ve only gained 2 lbs. this entire pregnancy. The fact that the doctor’s scale shows less of a weight gain than my home scale is beyond weird – 4 lbs. is a big difference!

Maternity Clothes: Duh! I wear them all the time and had to buy a HUGE t-shirt to sleep in because all the loose t-shirts I had are now tight. I’ve grown at least one cup size, if not more, and will soon need to hire a very short person to help me shoulder the weight of my bosom. As a side note, I can still fit into my old bathing suit (one-piece). Bad news is that it makes me look fat – as opposed to pregnant – but should I really care?

Sleep: I could certainly stand to get more sleep… but I’ve had a few good nights this week, so I can’t really complain.

Best Moment This Week: Seeing my baby’s FACE!!! I’ll try and get a picture up soon. We went to the perinatologist on Thursday and he confirmed the gender (whew!) and tried to get a “4-D” scan of her face. He had a really tough time because she was moving around so much (and boxing against my uterus) that all the photos were either fuzzy or had her fists covering her face… except for ONE, where you can see my precious little girl, complete with furled brow! She didn’t exactly look happy… but I’ll tell you what she did look like… her father! Her nose and lips are the spitting image of Daddy! He doesn’t see it, and oddly, neither did his folks when we sent them the photo, but my parents saw it right away. Hey, I’m not complaining… she’s probably better off looking like her father, he’s pretty handsome!

Gender: Female (yay!)

Movement: Oh, boy! She moves all the time. So much so, that I’m wondering if she ever sleeps? I’ve tried to get my hubby to feel it, but all he can manage to feel is my heartbeat. (Through my tummy? Weird, I know.) Hopefully, he’ll be able to feel her kicks someday soon. I’m still kind of amazed by the whole thing. My doctor was surprised that I can feel so much so early on and said that most women are just starting to feel flutters around 20 weeks (not sure whether or not that’s true) but when she checked the baby’s heartbeat with the doppler, she was amazed at how active my little one is! (I can feel her moving as I’m typing this – do you think she knows I’m writing about her?)

Food Cravings: Not much to speak of. The other night I really wanted a bean & rice burrito and since I never crave anything, hubby moved heaven and earth to get me to Sharky’s before they closed. It was so worth it… their burrito really hit the spot!

Labor Signs: Thankfully, no.

Belly Button In or Out? Still in (Please let it stay this way.)

What I miss:  This week, I’m not missing alcohol. Don’t really care about it either way, but I do kind of miss being able to bend forward! lol It’s so strange not to be able to do that (without pain) anymore.

What I am looking forward to:  My husband being able to feel the baby kick.

Next Appointment: June 28th. I don’t mind the appointments being spread out, now that I can feel her move all the time.

Milestones: Aside from the sheer circumference of my waist… the big milestone is that I’m now half-way through my pregnancy. Wow. Even typing it seems surreal. As much as I hear the heartbeat, feel the baby move and even see an ultrasound of her features, it all still feels like a dream most of the time. I just can’t believe I’m lucky enough to have all of this happening to me.

Sometimes, I say things like, “I can’t believe it’s finally my turn,” but in reality, I don’t know that I ever took for granted that it would happen to me, that pregnancy and then motherhood were even possible, much less guaranteed. There may have been a time when I felt I had more control over the outcome of these things, but that would have been before the first pregnancy and miscarriage — a former life, a former self with a completely different set of beliefs about the world. Today, I tremble at the miracle and gratitude-filled tears are always just a few seconds away every time I stop to think about what I’ve had to go through to get here. I love it here.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Daryl
    May 28, 2012 @ 21:29:51

    Okay, my reader is totally screwed up. How did I miss this??

    I’m so happy that you’re in a such a good place right now. (Can’t wait to be there one day myself!) Halfway. Wow!

    Reply

  2. msfertility
    May 28, 2012 @ 22:27:59

    Thank you – and thanks for continuing to read my blog! That means a lot to me. I just know you’re going to get there and I can’t wait to hear the news! (Also, this just reminded me that I need to upload the pic… tomorrow.) 🙂

    Reply

  3. Daryl
    May 29, 2012 @ 20:18:46

    Of course! 🙂 Yours was one of the first blogs I started following when I started mine. I am genuinely happy you’re finally getting your baby girl!

    Reply

  4. dopingforbaby
    Jun 02, 2012 @ 11:14:13

    Sounds like everything is going so well. How fun to see the face. I can only imagine that made everything even more real. So fabulous! Love the idea of your little girl already knowing you’re writing about her. Too cute!

    Reply

  5. Maria
    Jun 03, 2012 @ 03:17:19

    Hi,

    My name is Knoll Maria and I am a graduate student at Bar-Ilan University Information Science Department in Israel. For my final project, I am examining anonymity and self-disclosure in infertility blogs. The target population of the study are women bloggers who were or are going through infertility treatments and also blog about their experience. I am kindly inviting you to participate in this research study by completing the attached survey.

    The following questionnaire will require approximately 5 minutes to complete. Your response is very important to me. Your informed consent to participate in this survey is assumed by completing the survey and by submitting it. Participation is strictly voluntary and you may refuse to participate at any time. A copy of the results will be sent to you, if you choose so.

    Thank you for taking the time to assist me in my educational endeavors. If you require additional information or have questions, please contact by email.
    Click here to fill out the survey: https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet/viewform?formkey=dHY0SC1wT0lHeEFqOGdZN3pXT3p3aHc6MQ

    Reply

Leave a Reply

