17 Weeks

Despite what appear to be my never-ending bouts with insomnia or some other type of severely interrupted sleep, I am loving mornings! That’s actually saying a lot given that I am a devout Night Owl… but what I love about mornings now is that I can lie in bed, place my hand on my belly and wait to feel my baby move. It’s awesome!!! The movements (kicks?) aren’t really strong enough to notice unless I’m actually paying attention. I have to really focus and become still. But when I feel them, there’s no mistaking it. I tried to describe it to my hubby and the best I could come up with is that it feels like a “thump” inside a balloon filled with water – which, basically, is exactly what it is! Anyway, I love mornings now… who knew?!

How big is the baby? The size of an onion, according to the fruit ticker gods.

Symptoms: None. Is that boring? Oh, well… maybe some heartburn, now that I think about it.

Total Weight Loss/Gain: I weigh about 4 pounds more than when I started, but I honestly think some of that is due to my crappy eating and complete gorging on sugary foods 😦

Maternity Clothes: Except for certain stretchy tops, I can’t wear anything else. Eeek!

Sleep: Terrible. I can fall asleep easily, but I also wake up easily and can’t get back to sleep.

Best Moment This Week: My in-laws’ reaction to finding out we’re having a girl! My mother-in-law nearly made me cry with all her excitement. And we’ve told a few friends as well. I love all the love we’re receiving!

Gender: Female (and we’re starting to announce it IRL)

Movement: Yes!!! (See above.) I love feeling those little thumps.

Food Cravings: I’ve been craving cheese like a mad-woman, although I haven’t had any (because I don’t eat dairy of any kind). But it occurred to me a couple of days ago that my body may just be craving Calcium! I checked my pre-natals and they only have 100 mg – and I’m supposed to be getting at least 1,000 mg. Isn’t that amazing? Your body somehow really does just know what it needs. I started taking Citracal yesterday, so we’ll see how that goes. If I’m still craving cheese by next week, I may just have to give in and eat some!

Labor Signs: Oh, God, no!

Belly Button In or Out? In (Please let it stay this way.)

What I miss:  Whiskey, rum, tequila. We have had a house-guest staying with us this week and she & the hubby asked me to make them my famous Margaritas. In fairness, mine really are the best!  🙂 But making them was agony – as the smell of the tequila and fresh lime was literally making me salivate. To appease myself, I cut up a lime and sprinkled a little salt & too much Tabasco and ate that, to sort of simulate doing tequila shots. Hey, a girl’s gotta do what she can sometimes.

What I am looking forward to:  My house-guest leaving so that I can get back to exercising in earnest and getting rid of bulges-that-are-not-baby! Also, cutting out all the junk food I’ve been eating this week. My body doesn’t like it.

Next Appointment: May 22nd. Seems so far away!

Milestones: Well, not to be redundant, but… it’s the thumping that I can feel, mainly in the mornings. It fills me with joy… and a very strange sensation that something is actually alive inside me!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Daryl
    May 06, 2012 @ 13:56:53

    Baby girl is moving! And you can actually feel it! That’s amazing. I love that you’re enjoying your pregnancy so much. It’s only going to get better!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

