Show and Tell {snippets}

We just got back from spending the better part of a week with my in-laws (who are lovely, by the way) and I’m now home and very behind schedule with things I need to do (including my taxes – don’t worry, I did file for an extension – but still!) So, naturally, I’m not doing any of the dozen things on this weekend’s “To-Do” list… I’m writing in my blog journal. I am a professional procrastinator.

The one thing that really surprised me about this past week is/was my sudden and complete inability to suck in my tummy and look relatively non-pregnant. Prior to week 13, I could suck in my belly and while there was a little “pooch” it wasn’t necessarily a pregnancy-pooch, it just looked like a little flab. (There really are no great words to describe any of this, are there?) But somewhere in the murky territory between week 13 and 14, a combination of a growth spurt and pregnancy bloat has caused what is an undeniable baby bump! Not that there’s anything wrong with that… I just really thought I had a bit more time before I started showing! A quick survey of all my friends who’ve had babies revealed that they started showing somewhere between 4 and 5 months. No one I know started this early. Wah! Now, I’ll be forced to tell people at the big BBQ in a couple of weeks and I really wanted to wait.

The last time I was pregnant, we told people way too soon (and boy, did I learn my lesson!) What really irritated me was that when we made the announcement, one of hubby’s band-mates (let’s call him “B”) said, “I’m so jealous! My wife and I were hoping we would have the first [insert band name here] baby.” He wasn’t kidding, either. He and his trashy wife really were jealous. I obviously know that had nothing to do with me losing the baby, but it just stuck with me – probably because it was such a stupid thing to say in the first place – and I vowed they’d be the last people to know if/when I ever got pregnant again. If I show up at the BBQ in two week’s time, I’ll have no choice but to tell them… or, alternatively, my big baby bump will do it for me!

Other highlights from our trip include a conversation I had with my in-laws wherein they informed me of their plans to come stay with us, starting two weeks (!) from our due date in October so they could be there for the birth and “help” me with anything I needed. (I’m thankful they couldn’t hear the blood-curdling screams in my mind.) Typically, I have a very expressive face and people who know me well can read every single emotion I feel based on the look on my face. I hope I was either a) able to control my facial expression quickly enough or b) that my in-laws aren’t that observant! I said, “Well… we’ll see… that might be a bit early,” but what I meant to say was, “Are you kidding me?! You’re planning on staying with ME during childbirth and the first few days of me being a mother on this planet? Hell, no!”

On a less dramatic note, since the aforementioned baby-bump made it impossible to button my regular blue jeans (and the Bella Band wasn’t all that comfortable), I had to give in and shop at a real maternity store – not just those dinky maternity sections at a regular department store. I scored a 2-for-1 deal on blue jeans and bought a cute pair of basic black pants. Yay, me! Now, I can actually wear clothing and breathe at the same time – quite an improvement, really. And, my in-laws bought a downy soft baby blanket (with all the pastel colors, since we haven’t told them it’s a girl yet) and gave it to us as our first baby gift, which I thought was very sweet of them.

All in all, I think it was a good trip. I realize there are always going to be issues and conflicts that arise when dealing with family – and as my Dad frequently reminds me, it’s impossible to make everybody happy. So my mission from here on out will be to try to find a way to be kind and respectful to everyone’s feelings while still making sure that my baby & husband & I get what we need. From where I stand now, it feels like a high-wire feat… but very much worth taking that first step.

 

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jesica
    Apr 14, 2012 @ 13:41:24

    Wow, can’t believe your in-laws think it’s appropriate to come RIGHT after the baby is born! Good luck getting out of that! And you already know it’s a girl? So early? How?

    Reply

    • msfertility
      Apr 14, 2012 @ 14:18:54

      Oh, no… they want to come just before the baby is born and experience everything! lol (We know it’s a girl because we did genetic testing on the embryo – since this is an IVF baby – and the XX chromosomes showed up 🙂 )

      Reply

  2. Daryl
    Apr 14, 2012 @ 14:06:53

    I’m probably way more excited than I should be that you’re showing already. I’m sure it’s not the way you intended to announce your pregnancy, but holy cow! it’s still exciting. (Okay, maybe “holy cow” is not the best choice of words, but you know what I mean, right?)

    Reply

  3. msfertility
    Apr 14, 2012 @ 14:16:34

    Hahaha! I’m just surprised that so much vanity has kicked in so quickly! I forgot to write in my post how everyone around me has decided that it’s time to lose weight – that definitely does not help matters!

    Reply

  4. Bachelor's Button
    Apr 27, 2012 @ 15:34:53

    Friends of mine suggested having a ‘babymoon’ – telling everyone that they were going to have a week of quiet when they got to know their baby (like a traditional honeymoon). I thought that was a really good way of hinting the exclusivity….

    Reply

Leave a Reply

