The Fourth Dimension

I’m going to try and ignore the fact that I’m ridiculously sleep-deprived today and write a little entry anyway. (I cannot even imagine what I’ll be like after getting up for  feedings every 2-hours – God help me!)

Two days ago, we went in for our First Trimester screening – where they do the blood test for Downs and talk to you about the risks associated with advanced maternal age (which has to be the most polite euphemism I’ve heard of so far for “old lady!”) And this particular doctor – very quirky, complete with red bow-tie and, to his credit, also very thorough – is fond of not only doing regular ultrasounds, but what is known as a “4-D” ultrasound. He says he does this because he is so against people going to shopping malls to get this done by people who don’t know what they’re doing – that he wants to offer the service for free! I say, “Awesome.”

I still have to figure out how to add a page to this blog so I can post photos where people can elect to see them, rather than have these images unexpectedly thrust at them. (We’ll see if I can manage that after I post this entry….)

Anyway, so this was the first time they actually did a belly ultrasound which, I have to say, is infinitely more comfortable – and dare I say, much more proper for a pregnant lady – than the vaginal wand! (In truth, they did both.) I think the “4-D” image was from the belly ultrasound, though. And, I do have to put “4-D” in quotes every time, because my husband is extremely fond of ridiculing the term, asking if I really can see into the Fourth Dimension in the photographs and wondering what the hell that means?! 😉  Hey, maybe there is an element we can’t quite see there? I, for one, am not going to question it.

All kidding aside, I think it may have been me who was transported to the Fourth Dimension when I saw her. The doc didn’t provide any warning or set up… it just went from regular, grainy ultrasound to this amazing, crystal clear, full-color PHOTOGRAPH of the embryo! I don’t think I can put the awe into words. I just kept saying, “Oh, my God!” over and over. The image, which he very kindly allowed us to photograph with our phone cameras (because the print-out is still in black & white) is emblazoned on my cornea. Every time I close my eyes, I see my baby in complete clarity — her little arms sheltering her head, her tiny little ribs (that you can count in the picture!) her little body resting in my uterus. It’s almost too much to take in. I have been walking on clouds ever since.

I would cry… but it’s too much happiness & joy for tears. I am beyond grateful and very humbled by the whole thing. The one thing I know for sure now is that her Dad and I are totally in love with her already.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Daryl
    Apr 08, 2012 @ 13:09:21

    Oh my goodness! What a great pic of your little girl! This must make her feel so real to both of you. Amazing!

    Reply

  2. msfertility
    Apr 08, 2012 @ 13:59:08

    It’s still really hard to grasp – but, yeah – that’s what I keep saying, “She’s real!” I can hardly believe it. Wishing you all the same wonder in the very near future!

    Reply

  3. dopingforbaby
    Apr 09, 2012 @ 14:49:31

    OK. You made me cry. What a great day! A friend had the same experience with the 4-D ultrasound. Said it was just amazing and made the entire experience so much more real. Keep loving the little girl.

    Reply

    • msfertility
      Apr 14, 2012 @ 11:33:50

      Oh! I just saw your comment now – as we were visiting the in-laws for a week and I had no computer access. Thank you for sharing the experience with me and I do hope, with all my heart, that you get to have the experience yourself very soon!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

