Short and oh-so-sweet!

I had a very sweet moment with my husband last night that I want to share, mainly so I can look back on it later and gush to myself about how cute he is and how far he’s come along!

By way of background, let’s just say that my husband has never been passionate about having children. In fact, he was pretty passionate about not having them his entire life. When we realized several years ago that our relationship was getting serious, this was a huge potential deal-breaker for both of us. To make a long story short, we agreed to a series of compromises in order to move forward with our relationship. I agreed to letting him tour with his band for up to two months out of every year and he agreed to have one child with me. Just for the record – I really, really wanted to have at least two children – so that was actually a compromise on my part.ย (I definitely got the better end of that bargain! Well… maybe we both did.)

With that in mind, I’ve always been conscious of not overwhelming him with (previously fertility and now…) baby talk! I try to communicate things on a need-to-know basis most of the time, hormonal outbursts notwithstanding. I have always just assumed that he would come around (meaning he would be excited about having a kid) sometime after the baby was born and perhaps not even until our baby was old enough to meaningfully interact with him.

So, much to my surprise, last night he asked if we could talk. I don’t think he’s ever asked that before! And after I gave him my full attention, he said, “I don’t feel like I’m prepared to have this baby.” Without even flinching, I said, “Okay. What do you think you would need in order to feel more prepared?” He said, “Is there a book or something I should be reading?” I replied, “Sure! We can get you a book for expectant fathers if that’s something you would like.” I was delighted. Then I asked, “Would you really read that?” “Of course. Duh!” he said, mockingly. And then he was quiet for a minute. I waited a while before asking, “Is there anything else?” He thought about it and finally said, “No… I think that’s it.”

I don’t know if this experience translates well or not but I found it and him so incredibly adorable I can hardly stand it! Mr. No Children wants to actually read a book so he can be prepared for the baby?!? I feel like I just hit the husband jackpot all over again!

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sandra
    Mar 12, 2012 @ 19:13:50

    That is very sweet!

    Reply

  2. Daryl
    Mar 12, 2012 @ 19:20:54

    Oh, that is so sweet! It sounds like he’s definitely coming around. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply

  3. dopingforbaby
    Mar 12, 2012 @ 21:12:34

    Yes. Adorable. So glad he’s turned into Mr. Getting Ready for Baby. And loved the previous post, too. I think the paranoia is normal and as a friend and IVF survivors told me, all of your previous struggles will make you a much, much better mom. Keep sharing these moments. They’re great to read!

    Reply

  4. msfertility
    Mar 13, 2012 @ 11:03:29

    I hope so on all counts! Thank you for indulging me! โค

    Reply

  5. swankylady
    Mar 13, 2012 @ 19:48:47

    Haha, that’s cute. I like that he was all serious and “let’s talk” and the talk lasted all of two minutes. ๐Ÿ™‚ Guys can be just as dramatic as us sometimes…

    Reply

  6. Sammy
    Mar 13, 2012 @ 20:32:47

    Wow, very sweet indeed. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply

  7. msfertility
    Mar 13, 2012 @ 20:34:38

    I’m just so glad I didn’t freak out when he said he wasn’t prepared to have this baby! In all honesty, I thought to myself, “well… it’s a little too late now!” ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Reply

  8. Bachelor's Button
    Mar 16, 2012 @ 09:29:45

    He sounds wonderful. You are a lucky lady. I think you may have just left me a comment – but somehow I posted before finishing the post, and the previous half written post with your unseen comment has now vanished…. I am sorry.. do feel free to read the rest of it! hxxx

    Reply

Leave a Reply

