Somewhere Between Tired & Lazy

I feel compelled to write something, but my mind really feels blank. I find my total lack of energy somewhat annoying and wonder if it’s really the pregnancy hormones or if on some level it’s just inertia? There are days when  I have hours of energy early in the day and then – around 3 or so in the afternoon – it’s like someone pulls a plug and I fall into this comatose sleep for two or three hours. Usually, when I wake up, I’m still groggy and tired. Regardless of the naps, I am sleeping very well at night, too! Other days, it’s like I woke up and took a mild sedative. I can coast through my day as long as nothing more than emptying the dishwasher and pouring a bowl of cereal is required of me. Is this normal? I’m only 6 weeks and 2 days pregnant. Am I the laziest pregnant woman there ever was??? (I think my husband thinks so!)

Last Thursday, we had our first ultrasound and I was extremely relieved to see a perfect little yolk sac. My doctor said it was too soon to hear a heartbeat. He said we should hear a heartbeat at the 7-week ultrasound which will be this coming Friday. (I know I’m not the only one who Googles pictures of ultrasounds by week, right?) I was pleased that our 6 week ultrasound looked just like I expected. I took a pic of the ultrasound printout and text messaged it to my dad and explained that what he was looking at was the yolk sac as the baby is too small to be seen yet. And my phone immediately rang.

Dad: “What do you mean the baby is too small? Is something wrong?!”

Me:  “No, Dad — it’s just too early to see the baby at this stage.”

Dad:  “You need to be more careful with your wording!”

It’s a strange thing to experience when both your parents are way more freaked out than you are. (I have fretful thoughts now and again, but I don’t entertain them!) Advice from my mother has included things like, “Don’t walk too much.” “Don’t drive too much.” She thinks the “vibrations” from these activities will dislodge the baby. (She does know I still have sex with my husband, right?!?)

I know I’ve been a terrible blogger and an even worse comment-er… I’ll work on improving that just as soon as I get my strength back!

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. 1st-timemommy
    Feb 19, 2012 @ 20:50:45

    Iv’e been there… I had no motivation for anything my first trimester. 🙂 2nd trimester was great… however now that i’m in my third I find that i’m back to sluggishness, and sleepiness. sigh.. the joys of pregnancy!

    Reply

  2. Daryl
    Feb 19, 2012 @ 21:22:56

    You’re cooking a baby, no wonder you’re exhausted! Your parents are too funny! I can’t imagine my dad taking that much interest in pregnancy. But I’m glad you’re not freaking out. You just take it easy!

    Reply

  3. Mary Collie
    Feb 19, 2012 @ 21:38:27

    How exciting! You get to be exhausted after all the work you put into this little miracle. You’ve been banking exhaustion, and now it’s finally coming back to take its place in your life. Nap like it’s your job. Congrats on such great news.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

