600

My beta results from yesterday – 600! I’m terrible at moderately complex math, so I have no idea what the doubling time is on that. (Feb. 2nd = 58 and Feb. 6th = 600) I write that just in case any of you know the secret formula and want to tell me – haha!

I’ll go back on February 16th for our first ultrasound, which I didn’t really think was necessary at first, but when I thought about it some more, I guess it’s mainly to make sure the pregnancy is intrauterine (as opposed to ectopic) so, yeah… that would be good to know! The reason I didn’t want to go in for such an early ultrasound is because I’m pretty sure I’m not going to see anything worthwhile at 5 1/2 weeks. And what I’m really afraid of is seeing that dreaded empty sac. I don’t even like to talk about that, but the only other time I was ever pregnant, that’s all we ever got to see. Even at week 7, when the ultrasound technician was trying to tell me I could be a couple of weeks off with my pregnancy math – which, of course, is next-to-impossible when you’re a compulsive fertility charter!

In my heart of hearts, it feels like this time is really different. But if there’s one theme for this journey through infertility, it really seems to be “you never know what’s around the corner!” I hope good things. I think I’ve had enough “character growth” to last a little while and I would just love to relax into the miracle of this pregnancy and enjoy some time basking in the glow of it all.

I know it’s almost sacrilege in the realm of veteran IVF-ers to actually tell a whole bunch of people (IRL) what you’re doing and when you’re doing it… and even worse to tell folks about a positive pregnancy test (gasp!) but that’s precisely what I have done – and what has been different about the 3rd round. Now, I’m not saying that this was the best idea I ever had – nor am I saying that I wouldn’t wish to un-tell certain people, given the chance, but my reasoning in doing so was to create a synergy of prayer & positive energy to give my last IVF the best possible odds of success. And I think that was achieved. In fact, I’ve been so moved by the number of people whose spouses also prayed for me! I never envisioned that. It’s been wonderful to feel all the love & support – and I think, much, much better than the loneliness of the first two cycles where only one or two women (who’d struggled with infertility themselves) knew.

Yesterday, I got a phone call from one of my oldest friends – we’ve known each other since about age 5, so she’s the closest thing to a(n annoying) sister I have. If you read one of my earlier ranting posts, she’s the one who is obsessed with St. Rita and truly believes that all requests made to St. Rita are granted. (I’m sure you can imagine why I might find this irritating!) Anyway, she called to tell me about a vision she had about me while she was driving. She had a similar vision days before she conceived her own son a few years ago. [Note: I do love when people have visions, dreams, messages for me – it saves so much work on my part!] So she said that she got the message that I was pregnant (before I told her my results) and that I was having a baby girl (no one IRL knows this!!!) and then she said that she got a message about what my daughter’s name should be. Until this point, I was elated and had to contain my excitement so as to not tip my hand and give her any idea about how right she was about it being a girl! Then she said, “And you’re supposed to name her ‘Faith.'” (If you had inserted a microphone into my brain at that very moment, you would have heard crickets chirping.)

No offense to anyone who is named Faith, loves someone named Faith, is choosing to name their baby girl Faith, etc. but for two devoutly non-religious people like hubby & me, that name is way too loaded. Ain’t. Gonna. Happen. That’s the catch with having other people interpret visions/dreams for you!

More on prophetic dreams & such later, if I can get to it. The one pregnancy symptom that is really kicking in is that I become ridiculously fatigued in the afternoons, starting somewhere around 3:30 p.m. and we are so there right now….

13 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Daryl
    Feb 07, 2012 @ 16:53:50

    As much as I would love to hear about dreams and premonitions related to your pregnancy, you get your rest, lady! I’m so glad you have so much love and support surrounding you, and I hope the positive energy carries you through the whole 9 months until your healthy baby girl is born! I also know nothing about beta numbers (as I’ve never been anywhere close to pregnant), but 600 sounds good to me!

    Reply

    • msfertility
      Feb 08, 2012 @ 12:52:20

      Thank you so much, Daryl! I think the only really important thing about the beta numbers is that they (initially, at least) double every 48 hours or so 🙂

      Reply

  2. dopingforbaby
    Feb 07, 2012 @ 21:53:03

    600 is awesome! Super awesome. That’s doubling and I’m no math scholar, either. Keep it going. The little girl is making herself at home!

    Reply

    • msfertility
      Feb 08, 2012 @ 12:53:42

      Thank you! I told her that the place is all hers and she can do whatever she likes in there! I hope she makes it her home for the next 9 or so months!!

      Reply

  3. Bachelor's Button
    Feb 08, 2012 @ 09:07:12

    Hi, Am so pleased it is looking good. I understand the dread of the blighted ovum scan only too well, but I do think that our own instincts about the viability of a baby are often right – even at early doors. I also think that telling people is the best policy. It just cant hurt to have people willing you on.. lots of support, positive vibes and prayer for those who do, and visions etc on your behalf! Cant do any harm and I honestly do think that positive thinking plays a little bit of a part. Best to enjoy every moment of pregnancy that we get, whatever the outcome. Will think of you on the 16th.

    Reply

    • msfertility
      Feb 08, 2012 @ 12:58:11

      I hope that you’re right about our instincts! I’ve gone back & forth on the real effects of being positive but always figured being positive makes it a better journey even if it can’t guarantee a good outcome. The other day, I watched a spiritual documentary called “I Am” (on the Oprah channel) and in one scene they hooked up electrodes to yogurt w/live bacteria and had someone intermittently think stressful thoughts. Every time he did, the electricity meter would move dramatically! So, I guess if negative thoughts can affect yogurt… I’d better be really careful! (Thinking of you, too, and sending love your way.)

      Reply

  4. Julie
    Feb 08, 2012 @ 09:07:34

    That is fan-freaking-tastic! Mazel tov!!!

    Reply

  5. Mopie
    Feb 08, 2012 @ 20:39:29

    Your doubling time was 28 hours! I calculated it here: http://www.countdowntopregnancy.com/tools/beta_doubling_calculator.php – Mopie from TCOYF boards! Awesome job!

    Reply

  6. msfertility
    Feb 09, 2012 @ 06:04:08

    Thanks, Mopie! That’s pretty cool 🙂

    Reply

  7. Womb For Improvement
    Feb 12, 2012 @ 05:43:55

    Fantastic news. Faith though … hmm not so much. And I think calling her “Bloody hard work” would be a bit long for form filling.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

