2012 is off to a good start

So this is officially my first day of unemployment – hello 2012! I hope this year has some secret plan that is going to provide me with the type of prosperity I need in order to live my lifelong dream of being a stay-at-home mom. That would be so awesome!!! But I’m getting way ahead of myself….

I’ve promised to not think about such base and tawdry subjects as money – at least, not for this month. This month is to be purely dedicated to taking care of ME! (There will be plenty of time to freak out about everything – including finances – next month. Right? Right.)

Years of failed New Year’s resolutions have taught me one thing: I’m not good with resolutions! It’s almost like the constant focus on not doing something tugs on my conscience in exactly the opposite way and I’m practically compelled to do the very thing I resolved not to do! Well, not this year. This year I’m easing into it very nonchalantly (at least, I think I am). I even gave myself a start date of January 2nd, just to take the pressure off… plus, I knew we’d have left-over champagne and that the likelihood of consuming (vegan) pizza was very high on the first day of the year.

In fact, we had a lovely New Year’s Day, complete with our bona fide tradition of going to Santa Monica beach and dipping our tosies in the (feels like) freezing ocean water! We’ve been doing this ever since our first blissful New Year’s nearly five years ago. That was the day we both really knew we were head-over-heels in love with each other. And it’s been a tradition ever since. We did it the day he took me out on a boat in the middle of Marina del Rey and asked me to marry him (which of course was also New Year’s) and every year since… with the exception of last year. Last New Year, we were packing to move into our new house and foolishly thought it would be okay to skip our ritual – wrong! The superstitious cave woman in me is convinced this set the tone for how awful a year 2011 would be. Never again. By hook or by crook, we will be seaside every January 1st to dip our little toes into the frosty ocean forevermore!

But I digress… yesterday, day 1 of my 30-day plan, went swimmingly! I did every single thing I set out to do. (I can’t even tell you how proud of myself I am!) I took an hour-long mindful walk around the neighborhood and enjoyed more than a few squirrel encounters. {Oh, how I love those cute little munchkins!} I ate only healthy, non-processed foods; I meditated (and took an afternoon nap); and I exercised for another hour! This has got to be infinitely better for me {and my chances for pregnancy} than what I have been doing for the past 6 months – namely, spending 9 hours a day in a stressful work environment, subsisting on 6 hours or less of sleep a day, fueled by caffeine & sweets and restaurant food!

I know that what I’m doing now is only sustainable if I never have to work an 8-hour-a-day job again {please, God, please!} but I do think / hope that some of what I will be doing this month will become a life-long habit. The book Eat to Live has been coming up a lot in articles I’ve been reading, but I have a huge pile of dust-collecting diet books and I am hesitant to add one more. However, I do like the idea of a 6-week plan (that can be modified later to a way of life plan) and just this morning, one of my favorite food bloggers {Fat Free Vegan} mentioned that she was going to start the Eat to Live 6-week plan and include recipes daily! This is a godsend for sure.

Don’t worry… I won’t be posting daily updates on how this is going or anything…. I’m including it here, just in case this 3rd IVF cycle ends up being the one. I think that preparing my body and treating it like a temple is what my future child would want me to do — what he or she deserves me to do. Is that too hippie-dippy? Maybe. Probably. But I feel that way nevertheless. I want to be the best possible mom I can be. Starting now.

Leave a Reply

